English Chinese (Traditional) French Italian Japanese Korean Malay Russian Thai Vietnamese
  • Font size:
  • Decrease
  • Reset
  • Increase

Articles

Wat Sarsar Muoy Roy

Wat Sarsar Muo Roy is located in Sambo commune, about 36 kilometers north of the provincial town. Wat Sarsar Muoy Roy was built on the site of a former royal palace during the Zhenla Period in a city named Sampopura. The site features four Buddhist temples, each facing a different direction:

Vihear Sarsar Muoy Roy faces north
Vihear Kork faces to the south (only the base of this temple remains)
Vihear Kork Kert faces east
Vihear Lao faces west
During Khmer New Year, local people who live in Sampopura city usually celebrate the Nine Days Ceremony starting with Vihear Sarsar Muoy Roy before going to Vihear Kork and then Vihear Lao.
 
Vihear Sarsar Muoy Roy was built in 1806. It was about 30 meters square. First, the temple was thatched, built by King Chan Reachea II to worship the goddess of Vihear Sarsar Muoy Roy. The king asked the goddess to care for the soul of his daughter Preah Neang Varakak, who had been swallowed by the Thon crocodile.  
 
The temple is different from other temples, because it faces north. About 100 years later, the temple was damaged during a thunderstorm. Lightening struck 22 columns, causing them to burn to the ground and turning the face of the Buddha statue black from the smoke. Accordingly, the temple was dismantled and rebuilt by local people with only 78 columns. In 1997, Vihear Sarsar Muoy Roy was completely renovated. It is now 35 meters wide, 18 meters long and 23 meters high and has 116 columns. It was inaugurated on Jan. 14, 1998.

 

Print
TrustedCambodiaTours.com
Switch mode views: